Phedippidations

The Longest Running Podcast in the Universe.

The Podcasts

Fdip146: Running in the Ancient Olympics

The Ancient Olympic Games where part of a festival, where fairness and athleticism where considered sacred.  For over twelve hundred years the games were played in the Athenian city of Olympia and served as a cultural event to promote trade, commerce and diplomacy.  The athlete was respected and set powerful examples for all who came to watch them compete.  Their stories became the part of an ancient legend that inspired the modern games to revive the Olympic Spirit.

We owe this spirit, this sense of peaceful competition and international friendship to those who created the ancient Olympic Games and set forth a precedent that has been reinforced through history. 

Show Links:

http://jpl.nasa.gov

http://swiftshoe.blogspot.com

http://www.saintcast.org

http://theextramilepodcast.blogspot.com

Fdip featured blog: http://www.teamworldvisionozarks.org

The song "History” was by Jason Silver http://jasonsilver.com

Direct download: Fdip146.mp3
Category:Topic -- posted at: 12:30am EDT

Fdip145: Running Legend Frank Shorter

Frank Shorter is one of those rare living legends whose legacy is seen in every runner who seeks to better him or herself, and who runs with an infectious joy and passion…and sincerity.  There are legends in our sport, as there should be…but Frank Shorter is much more than a legend, he is an Olympian, a leader, a teacher, a good person and above all: a fellow runner.

Show Links:

http://rosaryarmy.com

http://catholiccitywithzina.blogspot.com

http://catholicfamilypodcast.com

http://sqpn.com

http://eshmultisport.podbean.com

http://runrunlive.com

http://www.worldwidehalf.com

http://www.worldwideraces.blogspot.com

http://zenrun10k.ning.com

http://theextramilepodcast.blogspot.com

http://www.austinhastings.com

Fdip featured blog: http://theadventuresofjeneureka.blogspot.com

The song "Good as Gold” by Admiral Twin http://www.admiraltwin.com

The episode is sponsored by Audible.com Go to www.audiblepodcast.com/phedi for your free audiobook download

Direct download: Fdip145.mp3
Category:Legend -- posted at: 2:00am EDT

This episode of Fdip is much different than all the others, and for those of you who dislike the musical selections that I include in each episode, this one is probably not for you.  But music marks our life and times.  Itâs more than just the poetry or melody: itâs the soundtrack that touches us; it expresses and reflects our feelings, it captures our emotions and it gives voice to our hearts.  In this show youâll hear ten independent artists (nine musical) and songs from previous episodes as we celebrate my three years of podcasting and I go for a run around a tiny little island in the State of Maine, because this week: Iâm on vacation!

Show Links:

I Am Not Afraid by Majek Fashek http://www.majekfashek.com

Im Not Running by Big Rain http://www.bigrain.net

Life Less Ordinary by Carbon Leaf http://www.carbonleaf.com

In the next life by Al Stravinsky http://www.myspace.com/alstravinsky

See The Sun by Black Lab http://blacklabworld.com

Let me Know by the Fire Apes http://www.myspace.com/fireapes

Ordinary Day by Great Big Sea http://greatbigsea.com

Tom Cruise Crazy by Jonathan Coulton http://www.jonathancoulton.com/

Pre by Phil Wells www.garageband.com/artist/PhilWells

The episode is sponsored by Audible.com Go to www.audiblepodcast.com/phedi for your free audiobook download

Direct download: Fdip144.mp3
Category:Topic -- posted at: 1:00am EDT

1